Sopa de Albondigas (Mexican Meatball Soup)

Since being back in my hometown, I’ve been doing a lot of cooking with my grandmother. She’s has tons of delicious recipes from her childhood in Mexico. I’ve been trying to absorb as much information about them as possible, so eventually I can pass them on to my progeny in the future. So yesterday I was feeling pretty lazy about cooking so I picked up 2 pounds of ground beef thinking that I’d make tacos for lunch and spaghetti and meatballs for dinner. I don’t know about other people, but these aren’t exactly rainy day comfort foods to me, so I decided to make my grandma’s Albondigas soup. And I’m sooo glad I did!

It was delicious. You’ll enjoy it too.

Sopa de Albondigas (serves about 6-8 people)

2 lbs ground beef

2 c white long grain rice (I use the brand Mahatma)

lots of water to fill a large pot 3/4 full (Maybe about 16-20 c?)

salt and pepper to taste (be generous)

1/3 c chopped mint leaves

1/2 – 3/4 c chopped cilantro, depending on personal preference

2 large egg whites

1 lb carrots, cut into medium sized pieces

1.5 lbs potatoes, cut into small-medium sized pieces

2 cups tomato sauce

Here’s how you do it: First, fill a large pot 3/4 full of water and generously salt; place on stove and turn on med-high heat. Let come to boil.

While you’re waiting for the water to boil, place ground beef, 1 c of rice (reserve the other cup for later), mint leaves, cilantro, egg whites, and salt & pepper to your taste. Mix well and form small-medium sized meatballs. Let sit for about 5 minutes.

When the water comes to a boil, add the meatballs carefully to the pot, then add chopped carrots.

Skim off any fatty foam that floats on the surface of the water.

Once the meatballs rise to the surface, add quartered potatoes, remaining cup of rice, and tomato sauce to the pot. Cover pot, and cook until meatballs are cooked through.

Serve with a few wedges of lime and warm corn tortillas.

Simple but delicious. This is my kind of comfort food. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sopa de Albondigas (Mexican Meatball Soup)

  1. Anji

    Made this soup over the weekend- Super yummy! I’m putting this recipe in regular rotation through the winter months!

    • I’m so glad! My grandma recently told me that you can also add canned chipotle sauce + 1 of the chipotle peppers finely chopped to the meatballs to give it a little spicy kick. I haven’t tried it yet, but it sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

