Chocolate Chip Madeleines

My little brother, Landon, is a freshman in college up in San Francisco and since I know firsthand how exciting it is to receive a package in the mail while living in the dorms, I’m putting together a little care package for him. Last time I sent him one, I made nutella filled madeleines, which were divine, but this time I thought I’d send a slight variation on that: CHOCOLATE CHIP MADELEINES. Yum. I’m not sure why that kid loves madeleines so much ….oh wait, I do – they’re buttery deliciousness in a cute package. What’s not to love?!

Speaking of things to love – take a look at this face.

My new kitchen buddy, Moby the schnoodle

I’ve been looking for a dog for the past couple of months, but last Friday I finally met my match. He’s a 6 week old schnauzer-poodle mix and he looks like a teddy bear. He already follows me everywhere and has a habit of falling asleep at my feet – even if I’m just washing dishes.  I’m in love!


Ok back to food. I bet you want the recipe to these delicious chocolate chip madeleines.

Chocolate Chip Madeleines (slightly adapted from Epicurious )

10 tbs unsalted butter

2 tbs locally produced honey

3 large eggs

2/3 c sugar

1 c all purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1/4 to 1/3 c mini chocolate chips (depending on your preference)

In a small saucepan, melt butter and honey.  Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Meanwhile, beat eggs and sugar for 6-8 minutes, until the volume increases 3-fold.

See the little fluff ball at my feet? I love this puppy.

Once all that air is incorporated, carefully fold in flour, baking powder, and salt.

When the flour is mixed in well, carefully add the butter honey mixture; mix well. Add chocolate chips.

Cover and let sit in the fridge for at least one hour.

Scoop batter into greased madeleine pan and bake for 13 minutes at 375 degrees F.

Enjoy with a cup a coffee or black tea! Delish!

I wish I got care packages like these when I was in college! Landon is going to be one happy student.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

