Snickerdoodles


Gorgeous pumpkins at Banducci Farms

Earlier this week my mom and I took my cousin and her 3 adorable little boys to the local pumpkin patch. I haven’t seen the boys since before I left for Chile to teach English in March and since they’re all so young I wanted to make sure that I could break the ice with them if they didn’t remember me (They didn’t…I’ve either been in Chile or Santa Barbara their whole lives). How can you ‘break the ice’ with 3-year-old twins and a 17 month old? Make snickerdoodles!  They instantly warmed up to me and I even got cinnamon-sugar filled hugs!

Check these tasty little guys out!

You better believe these disappeared in minutes

Snickerdoodles (slightly adapted from allrecipes)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tbs sugar
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
We want these cookies to be nice and puffy, so we need to cream the butter, shortening, and sugar. I used to think creaming the fat (let’s face it butter + shortening = fat) with sugar was a waste of time, but skipping this step is asking for flat cookies. Why? Because creaming incorporates air into batter and makes a perfectly puffy cookie. We like perfect puffy cookies.
Ok so after you do that creaming action, add the eggs and vanilla.
At this point, I put the hand mixer away and whip out the wooden spoon to mix the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt into the creamed butter-sugar-egg-vanilla mixture.  In a separate bowl or plastic bag, mix together the sugar and cinnamon. Using a small cookie scoop, drop balls of dough into the cinnamon sugar mixture to coat and place the coated cookie dough balls on your cookie sheet (don’t forget the parchment paper!).
Bake for exactly 8 minutes and immediately transfer the parchment sheet over to a wire rack to cool.
Yummy!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

